Cancer.

This cubicle is so cold and the sky is still gray.
And the sorrow and pain increases with each passing day.

Oh, how I miss the joys of summer and playing.
But by the looks of the results, it looks like I might be staying.

I had just turned three.
But you need to know, the world will go on without me.

All I can hear is the sound of the machine.
And watching more results light up on the screen.

Mommy keeps telling me that I will soon improve.
But oh, how it hurts to even move.

All of the nurses happily come in and try to make me smile.

But they’re the ones hiding behind denial.

I hate to see my mommy cry.
I want her to know that I’m not afraid to die.

Even if I don’t make it through,
you should know that the hardest part is leaving you.

I don’t know if I’ll live to see sixteen or one day marry,
but mommy this isn’t a burden for you to carry.

My skin has grown pale and all my hair is missing.
But I still smile from the memories and reminiscing.

I don’t need to be afraid because my mommy is here.
But why my life must end so shortly is still unclear.

It came a little early but this is my death.
The pain is fading, so I take my final breath.

There’s so many questions no one can answer,
but maybe one day, there will be a cure for cancer.

Leave a Reply

