Too soon.

I shouldn’t be awake. I should be in bed sleeping surrounded by the tons of stuffed animals on my bed. Yet, I haven’t slept. I thought I’d post something a bit pointless before I tried going to sleep.

Fall is on its way and I cannot say I’m very enthused. The days grow shorter, nights grow longer and colder, the trees stripped, looking so much like death. Animals hibernate, the sky will stay gloomy and the bitter cold will burn the skin. Winter will come along all too quickly.

A time of year I become depressed. Winter reminds me so much of death, the world and mother earth feels so dead to me during that time of year. It’s supposed to be joyful and jolly with all the holidays. It’s too soon for this.

It’s the time of year I just want soup, tons of coffee, tea, warm milk and hot chocolate and all wrapped up in my warmest blanket and wearing footed pajamas. That’s right, I said footed pajamas. I laughed too when mama gave them to me, but they are the warmest bundle of happiness and rainbows I ever did feel around me.

I don’t feel like sleeping. I’m already looking forward to spring so I can do spring cleaning again and plant flowers and strawberries. But as long as I always have something to look forward to, I can sometimes change my perspective and actually enjoy winter from time to time. The snow is beautiful when it’s pure and void of any imperfections such as footprints and the ice on trees is pretty and watching adorable children play innocently in the snow.

It’s a bit too early for me to be feeling this way so soon but as long as I tell myself time doesn’t exist, then spring will be here before I know it.

6 thoughts on “Too soon.

  1. Just for a different perspective:

    For a few years, I lived in a place that didn’t really have a fall or winter, I didn’t like it, and the summers were too hot. When I went back to a place that had fall, it was nice to walk in the park amongst the fiery red/yellow/orange leaves, it was beautiful compared to the year-round green. And when the snow fell, I was very exited. There’s nothing more peaceful than being out when the snow’s falling and there’s barely any sound.

    I don’t associate fall/winter with death, I associate them with slumber. When the spring comes, you can feel it, the trees and the ground and everything else begin to awaken, people start reappearing. In a place without winter, there’s never any rest, the bugs never go away, and the people never hibernate in their houses.

    But it’s not for everyone, some people really do prefer year round warmth, activity, and greenery.

    • You’re right. That’s why I try to find beauty in it. But it just cannot compare to the sweet smell of spring flowers and rain and the baby birds and bees coming out again. Thank you though. The winter just makes me oh so much more grateful for spring than I would be otherwise. (:

  2. A thought…

    “When the white eagle of the North is flying overhead,
    And the browns reds and golds of autumn lie in the gutter, dead.
    Remember then, the summer birds with wings of fire, flying,
    Come to witness Spring’s new hope, born of leaves decaying.
    As new life will come from death, love will come of leisure.
    Love of Love, Love of life, and giving without measure,
    Gives in return a wondrous yearn of a promise, almost seen.
    Live hand in hand and together we’ll stand,
    On the threshold of a dream.

    Now you know that you are real.
    Show your friends that you and me
    Belong to the same world, turned on to the same world…”

    – “On the Threshold of a Dream” by the Moody Blues – 1969

Leave a Reply

